To provide proof of the level of discourse that you're likely to find there I present to you the magic that is Deep Strike + Transport??? The number of question marks alone should tell you what kind of thread this will turn out to be. I don't want to ruin this for you ahead of tie, but this is how rules threads turn out when people who don't seem to be entirely familiar with the game resort to mental fisticuffs.
As always, none of the names have been changed to protect the innocent, but their avatars have been for my own amusement. Portions of this thread, not affecting the outcome, have been edited out and posts may be displayed out of chronological order, to make for an easier read. I will not edit spelling and grammar mistakes made in the original post- we all know it's funnier that way. Last and certainly not most the least, I will be snowmobiling in red text when I come up with some witty rejoinder or other. Without further ado, here goes nothing:
~hope that one didn't take you too long to figure out. Does the chimera get deep strike ability if linked up with stormies? ~only if you physically link them together, like with a chain or something It would seem rather stupid that it didn't but I figured I would ask first before using.
And if you could point me to the rule(page) either confirming or denying that would be awesome. ~error 404 page not found
Thanks in advance.
~and we have a winner right out of the gates. Why are there almost 30 posts after this you ask? Read on to find out
No luck finding a page number... ~that might have something to o with such a page not existing.
I know they can outflank in their chimera's though.(p.94) ~Oh I almost forgot, if rule A allows me to do B, then rule X clearly then allows me to do....fuck it, not even going to finish that though
This is the most awesome idea in the history of mankind. ~is it too much to ask that somebody named rolling thunder might know a little something about what the air force is currently capable of in real life
~you're also an idiot, oh god, you're an idiot
Okay, I have read the rules for Deepstrike, and there is nothing at all that says they can't do this. ~there also isn't a rule stating that I can't use my balls as a vehicle (F10S10R10 open topped skimmer, transport capacity 5 armed with spooge cannon [R template S4 AP- any unit wounded by spooge canon must take a dangerous terrain test if it moves in its next movement phase])
Also, looking at the infiltrate rule, any unit with this rule that buys a dedicated transport can apply that rule to the transport. ~epic reading fail. Wonder how long it will take for somebody to point it out Thus, we have precedent to assume you're right.... ~not so much, bub
This...this may change my opinions on taking Stormies. ~you know, since a power armor raping rapid fire weapon in a scouting transport is sooooo terrible.
Reds ~gahhhhhhhh. Well, what more would one expect from somebody who actually has a Stalin avatar. Seriously Internet- Stalin= not cool
~oh boy, memes. Whoopee you scare me when you type a sentence like that...
What are you up too? ~not too much, you wanna go grab something to eat- maybe get a game in?
Page 75 reads they CAN'T infiltrate with said transport. Where are you getting your info? ~a drug induced stupor?
Still, that means it does specify when you can't do it, and it doesn't say you can't for the Chimera.... ~I cannot describe in words how tired I am of this type of argument. Instead, I'll describe it like this 3====} (_o_)
~a beacon of hope in a sea of painful stupidity. Thanks stick
|Deep Strike This Mother Fucker|
~yeah, land raiders are so dumb, geez You push it out of a passing plane. ~now why was it that earlier you seemed to think that this was the most novel concept ever?
Trickstick has a good point. Where's Westrider? He knows all of these things.
~well those big ass things should be more than capable of dropping a chimera Wish we could get a marauder transporter or something, say it could transport any chimera frame vehicle.
~not even going to rip on you, because you may not have seen those models, but the Tauros is way smaller than the Chimera, so that conversion would not be anything approaching easy
Reds ~go to hell
~didn't know that schools were now offering advanced degrees in Sci-Fi physics. Time to bust out my Ender's Game Gravity Thesis
I must say if someone tried to use deepstriking chimera outside of a fun game with friends i would give them a weird look and think that they were joking. ~probably because it's not allowed in the rules May as well say that the chimera gets pinning too if the stormtroopers have that mission, or how about feel no pain if it has a medic inside? ~may as well say they get scout too while we're at it...oh....shit
May write up a special mission about a deepstriking chimera plattoon behind enemy lines, sounds like fun.
~aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh hahahahahahahaha hahahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha haha hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahah ahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahahhahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahaha ahahahahaha ha ha ha ha h ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ah ahaha hahahahahahah ha h a ha ha ha hahahahahaha ha h a hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahaha hahahahahaha hahahahahahah ha hahahahahaha ahahahahah ahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahaha ha ha ha h a ha ha ha ha ha ha ha h a hahahahahahahaha ahahahhahahahaha hahahahaha aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh hahahahaha hahah hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahahaha hahahahahaha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahaha hahahahaha bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh hahahahahahahahaha bwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah hahahahahahahahahahahaha ahahaha hahahahah ahahhahahahaha hahahahahahahahahahahaha hahahahaha ............. Oh shit, you were serious. Good luck to you sir
Will post the response here.
~I think I just actually facepalmed for the first time in my life
Nevermind, its already in the rules. XD ~In case you were wondering, yes this was added in by the poster well after the original post. Now as to the specific mental deficiencies that led to this happening, I can only speculate.
I am not quite sure that I could explain this in an e-mail
without it getting lengthy and confusing, so here's the remedy: if you
can call us at 1-800-394-4263, we can get to the bottom of this quite
quickly and effectively for you before we even hang up the phone! ~so hang on, he's saying he'll probably resolve your question before he hangs up? That's nice to know. It is generally good form to conduct most of a phone conversation while the line is still active. The fuck?
Customer Service Specialist"
I have yet to call.
~lol, good thing I haven't looked into the future to find out that Andy Hall actually answers this question satisfactorily over the phone, cock
Here is the customer service response via email;
I don't know the answer and can't be bothered to find out, so please ask someone else. ~I see what you did there. Now if only you could have done it in such a manner that it might be slightly amusing
Customer Service Specialist"
~shit, I'd almost forgotten that putting words in someone's mouth is subtext. Let me try: Happyorange=not actually witty
~I missed it, I must have been out. Please leave me a voicemail the next time you try to call me about those dinner plans
I actually talked to Mr. Hall when I called, and he seemed like a nice guy (He plays IG too, so we talked Stormies for a little while). ~hmm, looks like the buck was not passed after all
Apparently you CANNOT deepstrike the Chimera. ~hate to say I told you so. Wait, no I don't. I love telling dipshits like you I told you so Most USRs do not transfer to dedicated transports. Units transferring Scout to their transport is the exception to the rule.